Posted by: lindabundy | April 4, 2010

Volunteering Today

Per the feedback posed, my final project is shaping up quite differently than I had initially envisioned, but I am a lot more excited about this new “1.0.0” version.

I am passionate about service work and volunteering (truth be told, I enjoy few things more), I also enjoy getting to know people, and I appreciate the writing style of a good magazine. With this said, Through various interviews, I hope to understand what motivates people to give of their time, talent, and treasure. I want to see how technology has influenced efforts and perceived efforts in the midst of catastrophe (such as the earthquake in Haiti) and daily perils (such as hunger in Lewisburg). Through my work and time with others, I hope to gain a better understanding of why I am so passionate about service. I will compile my work into a magazine entitled, “Volunteering Today” using the Pages software. Through my finished product, I hope to educate people about how to motivate others to contribute.

Though the focus of my project has changed slightly, the practical information for the structure of the project (time line, etc.) will remain the same.

Responses

  1. I love this idea. I am really curious to see the differences in motivation for big catastrophes such as the Haiti earthquake versus everyday community service such as in soup kitchens.

  2. Great! Where can you distribute the magazine too?

    Are you going to do all the content yourself?

    You may find some ideas for style or content at Yes! magazine.

    http://www.yesmagazine.org/

    Also, you may want to look at Stanford Social Innovation Review
    http://www.ssireview.org/


Leave a Reply

Categories

