Posted by: crd012 | March 30, 2010

Coaching

Hacker Ethic: Coaching

Throughout my life I have played sports. As a kid I was always on soccer, basketball, and baseball teams. When I moved onto high school I was a varsity athlete in basketball and baseball. At Bucknell I was on the baseball team for a short time. Besides organized sports I also played pick up sports such as football, dodgeball, tennis, etc. If it’s a sport I have probably played it in my lifetime.  Through all of this playing I grew a great love for sports. But what I learned was I also loved to impart my knowledge to kids that are like I was or have not realized their love of sports yet. The two sports that I specifically love coaching are basketball and baseball. They are the two sports that I played the longest, that I was best at, and understand the most. The specific position that I could teach a child the most about is pitching. As a pitcher I had various pitching coaches and have had plenty of experience in it. Therefore, I know about all that you need to know about pitching.

I realized my true enjoyment of coaching was when I was teaching my youngest of my three younger brothers how to pitch. My dad was never a pitcher so when my brother first started playing baseball my dad asked me if I could teach him how to pitch. My dad saw noticeable improvement in my brother’s pitching so he asked me to come to my brother’s practice and show the rest of the pitchers my methods. When I was a sophomore in college I was asked to coach a 4th and 5th grade basketball team to meet the community service needs of my fraternity. Something that I thought would potentially be annoying turned out to be one of the most enjoyable things that I ever did. Through those experiences I realized that coaching was something that I really enjoy and something that I would love to do when I have kids.

For this project I want to design my own baseball practice and talk about the fundamentals of baseball which are batting, fielding and pitching. I would talk about the order of activities that I would do and show the specific lessons that I would teach to all the players.

As far as I am concerned there is nothing that is more rewarding than watching a group of kids come together as a team under your guidance and perform at an optimal level. Seeing kids succeed in sports due to your coaching is something that I enjoy and take pride in.

Responses

  1. You mention kids not knowing their love of sports yet. I was told over spring break this year that the people making a difference are the ones who have been given an opportunity, a hand-up, if you will, to help them see who they are and what their passions are. Sometimes our passions are obvious, and sometimes they are yet to be discovered. 🙂

  2. I spent the last two summers coaching youth and high school lacrosse. I HATED it. Kudos to you for enjoying it. I think it is really important for young kids to have coaches that care as much about their improvement as they do. I, unfortunately, am not one of those coaches. This sounds like it could be a really fun and unique project.

  3. This sounds awesome. It’s great that you’ve identified a passion you can do for the rest of your life. I will always remember great coaches I have had and advice they have given me. Coaches are a huge part in some kids lives (athletes) and I think it’s great that you are passionate about fulfilling that role.

  4. Check out my comments on Sean’s for some more background ideas.

    Are there some negative coaching practices out there among youth baseball? Why? Do other work ethics affect how some approach coaching and baseball?

    This would be the “perfect” practice? How much does the age and experience of the players matter? Can you cover all those skills in one practice?

    Once you have developed the contents of the practice, what form can the project take? There are lots of baseball teams around here. Can you test it out?

    Can you use other media or information technology to give your project a longer lifespan and/or audience?

    Tangent: have you ever read Moneyball by Michael Lewis?

  5. If you need any help designing the practice you might want to check out Tom Emanski’s baseball videos that created back to back to back aau national champions.

    Similarly to what Mike said, I have coached kids at soccer of all ages and just do not have the same passion that you seem to have.

    Do you think there is a way for you to expand this project outside of the classroom?


Leave a Reply

Categories

