Posted by: bjr008 | March 29, 2010

Final Project: Discovering the Hacker Ethic

“Discovering the Hacker Ethic”

Over the years leading up to my college career, I have been heavily invested in athletics. Sports were my passion, which consumed much of my time growing up. With the exception of a brief stint with the track and field team here at Bucknell and some intramural activities, sports have been most absent in my college years. In this final project, I plan to discover my new “hacker ethic” and what will become of it once life after college begins.

As most college seniors must do, I am in the process of the job search weighing out my options for the upcoming year. I have always been told by my parents and fellow working peers that if your follow your passions you won’t regret a day on the job. But finding the right job in this current economic situation with no clear passion appears to be a difficult task. Pikka Himanen explains that the “hacker ethic” consists of three parts: passionate attitudes and enthusiasm, creativity to realize one’s abilities, and the willingness to share experiences with others. By the time I complete this final project, I hope to discover what I’m passionate about, what job best suits me and my newly found “hacker ethic,” and to possibly help listeners on their own job searches now and further down the road through my personal experiences.

I intend to narrow down my interviewees and the questions I will be asking them around April 9th. I would like to finish my interviews by April 18th and will hopefully finish the project by April 30th. My reflection will be completed by May 9th and will be posted on the blogspot at that time.

I plan on using and citing Himanen’s book along with other sources I find along the road. I also intend to find a wide variety of interviewees to question, which will help me narrow down my “hacker ethic.” I will most likely do a research paper to complete the project, and I’m not quite sure how presentations are going to work. I have missed some class due to a surgery over Spring Break, so I will most likely be fine with whatever the class decides.

Responses

  1. Who are you interviewing? About what? You lost me there. And is sports an example of where you have been passionate, or is it somehow part of this project?

  2. I know there are some career road maps, for lack of better terminology,out there. Have you maybe considered the insight these may provide? (I know they are not always helpful…in fact, I know someone who was told by one that they should become either a mime or a mathematician by such a test…) Whether the direction provided is helpful or humorous, some insight may result from the source 🙂

  3. This is something that I am asking myself now. In this job climate I wonder if I am making the right decisions going after certain jobs. I ask myself everyday if I should move to Philadelphia and take a low paying job for the Phillies and try to move up through the organization. It is something that I struggle with everyday because working in sports would be a career that would put a smile to my face everyday. I think that we all weigh these sorts of options as we go into the real world. I think, though, that our first job won’t be our last one and as long as we are willing to take risks in the future we can find something that truly makes us happy. This is certainly a topic that I think about everyday and affects all our lives.

  4. Very contemporary. Hopefully through this project you can narrow down some sort of job search. I have found that it is easiest to send out job applications once a specific industry or job type has been identified. It will be interesting to see if your perceived passions shift after conducting research and potentially realizing a different path for yourself.

    P.S.–Find me a job.

  5. I think you have a really good idea and a start to this project but I think you need to develop it a bit more. I am struggling with what you are going to do to get to the end result (targeting your passions and finding how they can be turned into a career). I think half the battle is figuring out your passions and the other half is figuring out how they can be turned into a career.

    At this point, it doesn’t seem like interviews would be very beneficial but I like Linda’s idea about the career tests. You could use the CDC or find resources online. All those tests are different and it could be useful to take numerous different ones. They may pose different questions which at the very least get you thinking about your passions, your likes and dislikes, and your strengths and weaknesses in a different way.

  6. There is this book called What Color is your Parachute. I never read it, but several I know swear it is awesome for the whole job process.

    You raise the question of finding what you are passionate about. That is an interesting question. How do people find those passions? You may need to have experience before you know. The standard model of finding information and expecting to make a fairly abstract decision among options about the best “career” may be incompatible with hacking. In other words, you may not be able to find your passion in this project. But you can be more aware of how you might.


Leave a Reply

Categories

